An Open Letter for the Hopeless Romantic

For all the hopeless romantic who is slowly losing their hope. Please don’t!
Please stay in your hopeless romantic nature and show us, monster, that life is love and it’s one of the greatest emotion you could feel on earth.

I was a hopeless romantic once. I used to believe in love at the first sight, the right person, and a soulmate. I used to believe once you were married, there will be no divorce, you’ll stay with your partner in happily ever after. Once you were married, you’ll always love your partner in health and sick, in poor and arm. Once you were committed, you’ll stay committed, moreover when you already have a cute daughter and a handsome boy together. But life has had another plan for you, you’ll separate with your 16 years, high school sweetheart. The passionate, crazy, heavenly love you used to tell your children slowly becoming unbearable toxic and I-despise-you hate. All the moaning at night turned slowly into scream and shout and broken dishes. But I still wanted to believe in love and romantic.

I was a hopeless romantic once, I used to believe that life revolves around love, love for nature, love for the aesthetic, love for arts and love for living beings. Especially love in the human relationship. I used to believe romanticism is the only way you show your affection gracefully and in full nurture. That boys and girls, youngs or adults should express themselves because their feelings and emotion will be accepted and returned or at least appreciated. Life is a funny thing, when everything we believe starting to feel like a fairy tale and fall into places, that’s when life shows us, there’s the opposite than what we have faith on. But I know deep down I still had believed in love and romantic.

I was a hopeless romantic once. Until life showed me that love is not always pure, naive and sentimental. Love could be bitter, hard and painful. Love could be unrequited, love is deceitful, full of tricks and mind games. Love is there because you don’t want to be alone. Love is using you until you find another one that can satisfy what your needs, love will be there kissing your forehead every night and keep you warm just when they needed you, but they still keeping their eyes open in case there’s someone better than you. Love is just an illusion to comfort you in a cold heartless world, love will blind you and give you the impression that there will be a pot of gold by the end of this rainbow when it’s actually another highway to hell. Yet I still want to believe in love and romantic. I still want to believe that out there someone is having the pure, naive, couldn’t-live-without-each-other love, the kind of love I used to think I had. I envy them for still having this naive feeling, but I am happy for them. I wish them to have it a little longer than I. I wish them to cherish it and hold it as long as they can. But love has been my painful memories. It left its marked deep and painful in every inch of my body, leaving a scar I cannot heal, an addiction I cannot cure.

For the hopeless romantic out there, please don’t lose your hope. Don’t fall into a living hell pit and turn into a monster who’ll just seek warm and comfort in others without having a mutual feeling. Please don’t turn into a monster, who already forgot how to fall in love, be in love and to be loved.
For the hopeless romantic out there, please show us how to love again. Please, teach us all about love, pure love that you believe in. That kind of romantic cheesy love all movies and books have been telling us all. We’ll laugh at you and tell you to be rational but please be patient with us, because we’re just a baby on this field. Teach us how to crawl, slowly, patiently. I’ll guarantee you, it will be worth it and maybe later we’ll walk side by side on this journey. Because then, once we start believing again, we’ll love like never been in love before.

Sincerely yours,
DanantiDewi

One thought on “An Open Letter for the Hopeless Romantic

Leave a Reply

